+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Building an Airplane

Champ splicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of lightsplicer is a glorious beacon of light

Building an Airplane

Have any of you built and airplane? I have been researching for a few years, I finally broke down and bought the plans. I plan on building a plane originally designed in the 1920s, with a few modernizations in the 30s. It's the Pietenpol AirCamper. It is a wood and fabric construction, most likely with a more modern engine (we'll see when I get there). It will be a long project, lasting several years, but I can't imagine anything else giving such a feeling of accomplishment.

I'm hoping to find more homebuilders in the area. We do not have an EAA chapter nearby, there is one in El Dorado, and another in Pineville. While working in Burleson, TX, I met with the EAA chapter there, and got a good look at a nearly complete Piet, and two more in construction.

Champ KSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond reputeKSDAWG has a reputation beyond repute

Re: Building an Airplane

My father built two kit planes. I worked for midst custom craft for a summer in college. It's very rewarding but tedious beyond compare. I love airplanes but my wife says that until my youngest is out of the house, I'm in a holding pattern.