+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Real State of the University

Bulldog MattEE has turned a few heads around hereMattEE has turned a few heads around hereMattEE has turned a few heads around hereMattEE has turned a few heads around hereMattEE has turned a few heads around here MattEE's Avatar

Real State of the University

Hello All,

I understand by the posts here that last night DR gave a state of the university speech. It sounds like all the alumni really enjoyed the evening. Great, now let me just give you one students opinion of the state of TECH. TECH is strong. Stronger than when I started back in the Fall of 2001. And in the work world it is even stronger. What I mean to say is that I am an intern at Entergy's System Operations Center in Pine Bluff, AR. The engineering and operations staff is overwhemingly filled with TECH students or graduates. There are 12 full time TECH alums here and 4 from LSU and 3 from Mississippi State. In other words those who control the lights for LA, MS, AR, and south east Texas are pretty much all from our school. The TECH folks are universally respected by their peers and the management. My point in saying all this is that often we get down on ourselves on this board way too quickly. Yeah athletics was very disappointing last year. And I hope it gets better. Yes I do go to the games and try to bring my family. My brother who is 13 already knows where he is going and it's Blue and Red so take a guess. Let's get behind our programs and our school. I know most all of us here are. Let's unite to demand change where it needs to be. But let's take heart in what a gift TECH is. It really is 110 years of a Tradition in Excellence! I have never met a broke alumnus or a rude alumnus the one's I have met are great. Well that's all I got. I just want yall to know there are still some true TECH folks out here. Hope to see yall at Nevada! Please lemme know what you think.

Matthew Bellott